Artist vs. Practioner

Martial arts have been a passion of mine for quite some time.  It all started when I was very young, watching Bruce Lee and Jackie Chan movies.   This fascination eventually led to me donating myself, mentally and physically to combat arts.  Originally I got involved because I was already getting into fights and I figured why not learn cool things to do while I’m at it.

After I matured a little (let’s not kid ourselves, I’m still a big kid), I came to some realizations: 1) That no one “wins” a fight; unless it’s a competition.  There is no prize! 2) When defending yourself, inflict pain on your attacker as quickly and most efficiently as possible.  Fancy, pretty moves mean nothing if they’re not effective and 3) There is a huge difference between a Martial Artist and a Martial Arts Practitioner!

I’ve been training in martial arts for 13+ years now and still, I consider myself a practitioner.  Hopefully someday I’ll be an artist!

Many people think that once you “earn” or in some cases pay for/buy your blackbelt, that they are a “Martial Artist”! This is so WRONG! In most cases, you’re still a practitioner.

Some people could train their whole lives and not become an artist.  I’ve also seen children under the age of 10 wearing belts that they haven’t even been alive long enough to earn.  And I think we’ve all seen a “blackbelt” so out of shape that they couldn’t defend themselves against a flight of stairs.  Practicing cookie-cutter techniques and movements doesn’t turn you into an artist.  Being able to apply movements and techniques on your own accord and/or with your own twist does.

Just because you practice a martial art doesn’t make you an artist!

The Artist vs. Practitioner principle is applicable to everything we do!  Don’t learn from someone who doesn’t or can’t practice what they preach.

Stay tuned for more! I’ll be covering more on this topic soon…

Leave a Reply

